naughty or nice

Dear Santa,

It has come to my attention that you know when I am sleeping. You know when I am awake. You know when I have been bad or good. I do not know how you obtained this information, but your methods may well be illegal, Santa. For the purpose of discussion here, though, I am ignoring that for now.

So, as I contemplate the likelihood of receiving coal in my stocking this year, I ask you, Santa: define good.

Define bad.

Define naughty and nice.

Ah… yes. If we are maintaining the conventional standards, I assume that means coal.

Well, then, let me embrace the coal.

Yes, I embrace the coal, the gritty black honesty of it.

I embrace coal, and earth, and wishes and passion. Really, this is all I need.

And then I ask you, Santa, what really matters in this season of hope and love?

With love,
L.D.

2 thoughts on “naughty or nice

  1. Cheeky Minx says:

    When you receive your definitions from Santa, do you think you could post them for the rest of us? I also have problems with the line between naughty and nice.

    As for what matters, I think you’ve hit the nail beautifully on the head.

    Merry Christmas…

Leave a Reply

